My blog about anything biking!

It’s freezing wait, nevermind!

After a week of being sick and not riding, I was excited to be back on the bike!  Northeast PA can be tricky with weather and the elements that it provides.  Jack (my hubby) and I can walk out of the house and it will be in the 40’s, and by the time we arrive at our ride destination, in the 30’s!! This happened on Saturday when we hit up Merli Sarnoski in Carbondale.  Everyone on the ride was quite surprised by the amount of snow as we started, but those Mukluker’s did a good job packing the snow for us skinny tires!! I still have my race tires on Maxxis Crossmarks, which are rollers and don’t really have a ton of traction, or so I thought.  I had no trouble on the snowy trails, rocks and slippery singletrack.  Very pleased with how the rubber was able to grip to the roots, and snow did not stick in the tread that I do have.  Way to go Maxxis, I’m going to push these puppies all winter!

My Niner EMD rocked on the snowy trails.

My Niner EMD rocked on the snowy trails.

Alaina and I in front of a frozen, foggy lake at Merli.

Alaina and I in front of a frozen, foggy lake at Merli.

This time of year is all about fun and just being able to ride my bike with friends.  Well, it’s always about fun and friends but right now, there is no thoughts of, “I need to train for the next endurance race coming up!! AHH!!” Friends are getting new bikes, Jack is getting back into riding and this is the best form of therapy; especially with the busy holidays around us.

Skip to the next day and the temperature was up about 15 degrees and we headed to Lackawanna State Park.  Mud.  Not all of it but we definitely found some.  LSP is a great state park that has a mix of everything.  You can get away with not doing a lot of climbing or you can, you can ride flowy trails or you can hit some technical parts too. Today, there were traces of snow but overall, it was beautiful out, short sleeves and I was fine!

Rolling uphill through the mud...a couple of extra pedal strokes and we were through.

Rolling uphill through the mud…a couple of extra pedal strokes and we were through.

Well, that was my hindsight weather report :o)  I really do hope that regardless of the weather, cold or not, you can get outside and enjoy the day.  I am thankful that I have Jack, great friends, live in a great area and have the best bike ever, my Dirty.  I had to name it since my other 2 EMD chick’s named theirs…it was the only name since it is never, ever clean.

Ride On!

Leave a Reply

