My blog about anything biking!

One week in.

Since I last posted seven days ago, I spent this past week working my tail off – or so I thought.

I suffer from migraines and had one from last Tuesday until about Thursday afternoon. I still worked out, but it certainly wasn’t to my full potential. I spent the week focusing on my core muscles, cardio, legs and abs. By the time Friday rolled around, I was ready to get on my road bike. The weather here in PA finally got above 40 degrees, but not by much. On Saturday, I did a road ride with some guys.

Now, I know they are faster than me and I always hesitate with my decision to go, but I need to ride with them if I want to get faster.

My last road ride was in early November and then since, it’s been a few miles here and there on the mountain bike. Mentally, I thought, “Hell, I can go out and ride with no problem. I’ve been working out training so I’m strong.” Silly me. Those little spurts of cardio I did were not enough. The weather was about 42 degrees and there were six of us. I was the only girl.

We rode up the valley (local terminology) into Forest City, on through to the Stillwater Lake dam and back down. Sounds like an easy ride, right? I felt like my lungs weren’t working. And by the time we were looping back around mile 30, my quads started to cramp. No more standing for me. I felt awful.

A bit weird with all of that fog and snow behind me.

This is me, feeling awful. Above Stillwater.

Our ride ended up being about 44 miles and 2,000 feet of climbing, but that is a drop in the bucket compared to what others did this weekend. (Vicki Barclay rode 100 on Saturday!) After the ride, it was a few Blue Moons and a quesadilla that got me feeling a bit better. But my muscles were tight, hips were hurting. I knew I needed to start focusing on those muscle areas.

Come Sunday, two friends of mine wanted to do a nice ride out to the country and back. The ride was probably more climbing than Saturday’s ride, but less miles. I was game.

I knew my legs would be tired so I sat in the back of Ed and Taylor and shouted, “car back!” That was about the extent of my conversation on the ride. The fog was dense to the point that it was probably dangerous to be on the roads, but it eventually cleared toward the end of the ride. We rode 30 miles and climbed about 2,900 feet in elevation. It’s not much, but I’ll take it. I was tired but my muscles weren’t as angry with me as they were after Saturday’s ride.

Ed and Taylor riding along as the fog finally lifted.

Ed and Taylor riding along as the fog finally lifted.

It’s funny how you can be so happy to be out on a ride and know you are getting a good workout, but be so disappointed. Why am I so slow? Why do I feel like my muscles hate me? How come I feel like my legs have nothing to give? Well, it IS January in northeast Pennsylvania and you have NOT gone more than 20 miles on a bike since November!

I do need to remember that the season does not start in a week and I have two more months to prepare and build myself up before my first endurance race of the season. It was a great week of working out. I noticed strength in my core and I felt good knowing my muscles were tight from working them out.

In the end, I need to really bust my ass on the trainer and get running. Cross training is great for me and I need to do it. This weekend only made me stronger and I need to keep going. This season will be tough, but I can line up and be just as confident as my peers on that starting line if I staying focused.

CAAD got dirty..just like her sister EMD.

CAAD got dirty..just like her sister EMD.

6 responses

  1. Taylor

    You’re a champ. And yes, it’s January! I have to keep telling myself that too, especially on days when I’m not feeling the greatest. Plus, fighting through rides like this will give you the physical and mental toughness you need later in the season. Again, that’s what I tell myself. 🙂 Let’s keep training together– I’m always up for a run or a ride.

    January 14, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    • I will gladly chase you and your big girl gears anytime!! Thanks again!! 🙂

      January 14, 2013 at 6:26 pm

  2. c2gd169

    Gotta love those brutal New Year rides. Good show though, no pain no gain and all that.

    January 15, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    • True. Very true. Those warm, teaser days are some serious reminders of all of the training I have to do yet! Today? 4 inches of snow! haha

      January 16, 2013 at 6:26 am

  3. Sk

    Ok that’s it, the trainer will be set up today. Thanks for the kick in the rear! I will train with you on your recovery days when the snow is gone. 🙂

    January 16, 2013 at 8:14 am

    • I can’t last more than 45 minutes on the trainer. I’m going to head out for a run today, that’ll help me more right now than the trainer all of the time. Come running with me!! 🙂

      January 16, 2013 at 8:21 am

Leave a Reply

